Books of Gustave Flaubert in order

Books of Gustave Flaubert in order

Updated: November 19, 2023 by Mylene in Books in order

3 books Gustave Flaubert

Gustave Flaubert was considered to be the representative of the Realists during his lifetime. He was also a close friend and mentor to the renowned French writer Guy de Maupassant.

Gustave Flaubert, a romantic writer, is revealed through Madame Bovary, whose publication was controversial. He introduced an innovative style that overturned the codes of novel writing in the 19th century.

All Gustave Flaubert Books in Order

Below is a complete list of Gustave Flaubert’s works. The books are arranged in chronological order:

A book club for sharing the pleasure of reading and learning together

Immersing oneself in a language through literature is an incredibly effective way to learn a language, grow, and expand our horizons. With other learners that you share our passion for literature, FrenchBookmark is an online place for discussions dedicated to enhancing your understanding and appreciation of the French language and culture.

Un parfum à sentir – 1836

La peste à Florence – 1836

Rêve d’enfer – 1837

Quidquid volueris – 1837

La Danse des morts – 1838

Memoirs of a madman (Mémoires d’un fou) – 1838

Smarh – 1839

Madame Bovary – 1857 

Salammbô – 1862

Sentimental education (L’éducation sentimentale) – 1869

Le Candidat  – 1874

The temptation of Saint Anthony (La Tentation de saint Antoine) – 1874

Three tales (Trois contes : Un cœur simple, La Légende de saint Julien l’Hospitalier, Hérodias) – 1874

Le Château des cœurs – 1880

Bouvard et Pécuchet – 1881

Let’s explore the world of French literature, one captivating book at a time! Subscribe now to our online book club and embark on this exciting adventure. By joining FrenchBookmark, you will have access to the reading sheets of some of Gustave Flaubert’s works.

This post is also available in %s.

Leave a Comment

New schedule, new book - join our book club now! Every Monday at 7 pm.