Books of Simone de Beauvoir in order

Books of Simone de Beauvoir in order

March 3, 2024 by Mylene in Books in order

Born in 1908 and died in 1986, Simone de Beauvoir is a French novelist and philosopher, memoirist, essayist and letter writer. Graduated in philosophy at the age of 21, she united her life with that of Jean-Paul Sartre and is part of the existentialist movement which seeks, through its questions, to find meaning in life in the absurdity of a world in which we did not choose to be born.

As a renowned author and seminal figure in feminist theory, she is most notably recognized for her groundbreaking work, “The Second Sex.” Her intellectual contributions extended beyond the pages of her books, as she actively engaged in the women’s liberation movement from the 1970s. In a notable career milestone, she was awarded the prestigious Prix Goncourt in 1954 for her novel “The Mandarins.”

Discover Simone de Beauvoir

Here is the complete list of Simone de Beauvoir’s works, classified in chronological order:

She came to stay – 1943

Pyrrhus et Cinéas – 1944

The Blood of Others – 1945

All Men Are Mortal – 1946

The Ethics of Ambiguity – 1947

The Second Sex – 1949

The Mandarins – 1954

Privilèges – 1955

The Long March – 1957

Memoirs of a Dutiful Daughter – 1958

The Prime of Life – 1960

Force of Circumstance – 1963

A Very Easy Death – 1964

Les Belles Images – 1966

The Woman Destroyed – 1967

The Coming of Age – 1970

All Said and Done – 1972

Must We Burn Sade? – 1972

When Things of the Spirit Come First – 1979

Simone de Beauvoir: Beyond the pages of her books

A passionate proponent of existentialism, her impact on literature, philosophy, and feminist thought continues to be felt and celebrated today. She posed profound inquiries in pursuit of life’s meaning. As a pioneering feminist theorist, she eloquently asserted that “one is not born a woman, one becomes one.”

Engaged Readings

These thought-provoking themes resonated within our Reading Club, inspiring engaging discussions on the novels “A Broken Woman” and “A Very Sweet Death.” To find out more, please join our Book Club.

Connected Perspectives

Books of Annie Ernaux in order

This post is also available in Français.

Leave a Comment

New schedule, new book - join our book club now! Every Monday at 7 pm.